Nobody Knows the Colours I’ve Seen

Using a themed set of words as prompts for Freewriting can bring out a story from I don’t know where – the subconsious I guess. This poem came out of some Freewriting using colours as prompts…

Nobody Knows the Colours I’ve Seen

White satin dress,
White knitted shawl,
White virgin snow on bed.

Red long-stem roses,
Red-blooded passion,
Red life ebbing on sheet.

Blue lights and sirens,
Blue painted ceiling,
Blue anaesthetist’s gown.

Green car home,
Green door shut,
Green curtains drawn.

Silver mirror,
White sunken cheeks,
Red swollen eyes like slits.

Grey husband’s face,
Grey phone in hand,
Grey on-call doctor’s suit.

Yellow coffee cup,
Yellow Temazepam,
Yellow tongues in the fire.

Black curling scan photo,
Black charred shawl,
Black hole gaping inside.

About Carol Ross

Interested in therapeutic writing.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing Ideas and Prompts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nobody Knows the Colours I’ve Seen

  1. Wendy says:

    Wow – what a powerful and touching poem!

  2. Carol Ross says:

    I’ve come to realise that all sorts of memories can influence what we write.

    After writing this poem in 2009 I realised it reminded me of an old folk song, History Lesson, although I wasn’t aware of that at the time of writing. I prefer the version sung by British folk singer Brian Peters (http://www.harbourtownrecords.com/peters.html). Link to song lyrics: http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=%22black%20the%20minnows%20that%20swarm%20in%20the%20water%22&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CCYQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fmudcat.org%2Fthread.cfm%3Fthreadid%3D66628&ei=L3yJT6bjK4m80QWqyKDjCQ&usg=AFQjCNEOC8aGbXDDBo-1tiXat1z9jTNY2w

    For the poem title I intentionally echoed the song title: Nobody Knows the Trouble I’ve Seen: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nobody_Knows_the_Trouble_I've_Seen.

Leave a Reply

