Neuro Linguistic Programming (NLP)

According to Wikipedia the psychology-related technique called NLP  is “largely discredited” but I did an NLP course yesterday and found it really interesting, and I think useful (too soon to tell maybe?).

The 4 pillars of NLP are:
Sensory Acuity
Rapport
Outcomes
Flexibility.

There are also some “pre-suppositions” (that are too long to type on my smart phone).

I plan to read more about NLP but I don’t at the moment think its bad name is entirely deserved. Worth reading about if psychology and human communication is interesting to you.

Carol.

About Carol Ross

Interested in therapeutic writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Neuro Linguistic Programming (NLP)

  1. Carol Ross says:

    Update: I feel like I am already using some of what I learned in the NLP course to turn some of my negative thoughts about certain things into positives or at least netural. For example, I usually hate having to fill my car with diesel but when the fuel light came on yesterday I managed to change my negative thoughts to positives by enumerating all the reasons there are for me to feel lucky about filling up with diesel … I can afford to run a car, I am fit and well enough to drive, etc.

  2. Carol Ross says:

    Hi Karen, I’ve had a quick look at NLP websites and I have come to the conclusion that the best idea might be to read a book by one of the original developers, Richard Bandler, rather than take pot luck on websites. However I did find this website that looks to have quite a few free resources and seems, after a quite skim through, as if it may be a reliable source. http://www.nlpacademy.co.uk/

    • Mary Ellis says:

      What about John Grinder? He co-founded NLP (now he calls it New NLP) with Bandler. (Grinder and Bandler had a very acrimonious split, which is now resolved.) Now in his 70s, he’s written a book with Carmen Bostic-Silvera called Whispering in the Wind, and he also runs 2-week courses in Crawley. I’m not sure about the book, but my friend went on his course in March, and speaks very highly of it.

  3. I was talking to someone who just went on a course to do this and would like to know the name of a reliable site to look up information about it.

    • Carol Ross says:

      I think they’ll be very variable. If I find a reliable one I’ll let you know.

      • Karen Harvey says:

        Thanks Carol,
        There is so much information misinformation and on the net and in books so I’d reather be pointed in the right direction byu someone who knows a little/someone elso who know about it.

        Karen

  4. Mary Ellis says:

    Now this is extremely interesting. I have a very good friend who is an NLP practitioner. She is very good, but she doesn’t exclude other tools from her practice. It is only a part of what she offers. She will agree that there are some things that have been discredited, and rightly so, and other elements that don’t have a wide application. A combination of therapies that can be tailored to each client’s needs is what seems to be most effective. If anyone in Bucks wants a good Life Coach, I’ll introduce you!

Leave a Reply

