Today in this room…

I first experienced this writing exercise on a workshop with British poet Dr Geraldine Green. It is a great piece of mindful writing that can be varied according to your mood or the group you are working with.

For each line fragment I suggest you write for 2-3 minutes.

Today in this room I can see… Today in this room I can hear… Today in this room I can feel… Today in this room I can smell… Today in this room I can taste…

Mindful writing like this, or writing in the here-and-now, can be very calming (and could also have other beneficial effects depending on the person who is doing the writing).

When using this exercise in a mental health ward, where people could hear voices and are likely to ‘feel’ pretty low, I adapt the prompts. For example I might use these instead: Here in this room I can see… Right now I can hear the sound of… Today in this room my fingers touch… Right now in this room I can smell… Here in this room my tongue can taste…

About Carol Ross

Interested in therapeutic writing.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing Ideas and Prompts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

