Reflections on my “Year of Writing” project in an NHS trust – 1

This is an extract from Words for Wellbeing book, follow link for details: https://trioross.wordpress.com/new-words-for-wellbeing-book-extract/

Chapter 14: My Year of Writing

When my son asked me to write stories with him one half-term holiday (February 2005), I said yes darn quick – anything to get a boy writing! But neither of us could have imagined what it would eventually lead to. His story – There’s a Roman in My Garden – was written, typed and illustrated before he went back to school. Mine kept growing, and before long I had 14 chapters of a children’s book. And this after 20 years of doing almost no creative writing! Once I started writing creatively again, I came to realise the power writing has for making you feel better. I continued writing, and also began studying creative and therapeutic writing, counselling and personal development.

Then in September 2009, my employer (Cumbria Partnership NHS Foundation Trust) launched a competition similar to the BBC’s Dragons’ Den (BBC, 2012). When I saw the competition poster I had an idea for a writing project. I developed a proposal for a ‘Cumbria Partnership Year of Writing’, got shortlisted, pitched to the ‘Dragons’, and won funding to increase my hours for a year to undertake the project (Ross, 2012). The wave of adrenaline then abated, and the sleepless nights, hard work and long hours began! But it was all worth it – the project has touched so many people’s lives, and has changed my life.

More to follow…

About Carol Ross

Interested in therapeutic writing.
This entry was posted in Books, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

