Cumbrian Commute – 4

Driving to Kendal

It is a cold dull day.
Beneath a grey blanket
the landscape is drab in
shades of brown and green.

A dark hunched shape resolves
into a perching buzzard.
Two crows flying over meet
fleetingly, then diverge.
Three more sit like witches
plotting in a hawthorn tree.
A flock scavenging on the road
lifts off lazily as I approach.
And a few feet above the road,
the brown bulk of another buzzard.

Once on the M6 miles slip by.
Grey clouds disperse and a low
winter sun transforms the drab fields
and hills to emerald and gold.

 

About Carol Ross

Interested in therapeutic writing.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cumbrian Commute – 4

  1. niki says:

    hi there. i am not new to the blogging world, but new to the mental health blogging world. you can find my blog here in my post. and know that i am deeply depressed. i am SMI and have been on meds most of my adult life. i am 40. have 4 kids. and live in AZ. hi. just wanted to say HI. i am horrible at writing but try to journal regularly. i have been inpatient at the psych ward and the art helped me.

    • Carol Ross says:

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment Niki. I’ve had a look at your blog and I think you’re doing a great thing. I hope your posts will helpful for lots of people. I’m sorry to hear you are deeply depressed but glad that art has helped you to some extent. As far as writing is concerned, there are kinds of writing that are helpful in severe depression. I feel it’s best not to write about unhappy memories and not to write down too many negative thoughts as writing them can emphasise them. It can be good to write stories and poems, to write about positive memories, and to write to celebrate any positives, even if it’s just I went out to the shop today. Mindful writing is also good, for example writing to describe something you can see, hear, feel, taste, etc. Thanks again for dropping by and I wish you all the best for a happy Christmas and New Year. Carol.

Leave a Reply

